Locations Main Campus: Chesterfield, MO 63017   |   Locations
314-434-1500 314-434-1500   |   Contact Us

News Releases

St. Luke's Hospital Earns ACCME Accreditation with Commendation

The honor places St. Luke's continuing medical education program among the top 15 percent in the nation.

CHESTERFIELD, MO, December 21, 2011 - The St. Luke's Hospital continuing medical education (CME) program has earned accreditation with commendation by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME).

ACCME accreditation with commendation means that St. Luke's has received a six-year accreditation (the maximum possible) and is among the top 15 percent of CME providers in the United States, including some of the nation's most prestigious medical schools.

"Our distinguished medical staff leads the program's development for physicians and other healthcare professionals in the greater St. Louis area and beyond," said Jeannie Dwyer, St. Luke's Hospital CME coordinator. "Ultimately, advancing CME opportunities helps improve the quality of life for patients and the community."

For more information, visit St. Luke's CME program page .

About ACCME Accreditation:
ACCME accreditation assures both physicians and other healthcare professionals that CME activities sponsored by St. Luke's meet high standards based on quality and patient safety parameters consistent with identified needs.

The ACCME rigorously evaluates the overall CME programs of institutions according to standards adopted by all seven of its sponsoring organizations: the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies and the Federation of State Medical Boards.

ACCME-accredited providers certify educational activities for category 1 credit of the American Medical Association Physician's Recognition Award ("AMA/PRA"). The AMA/PRA is used by state licensing boards and boards of medical specialties to re-license physicians and re-certify them in their areas of specialty.

About St. Luke's Hospital:
St. Luke's Hospital in Chesterfield, Mo. is a regional healthcare provider committed to improving the quality of life for patients and the community. The 493-bed, not-for-profit hospital offers care in more than 60 specialty areas and serves the region from more than 20 locations across the greater St. Louis area. St. Luke's is the only Missouri hospital recognized as one of America's 50 Best Hospitals TM by HealthGrades® (2007-2011). For more information, visit stlukes-stl.com/newsroom .

Printable Version (PDF)