Locations Main Campus: Chesterfield, MO 63017   |   Locations
314-434-1500 314-434-1500   |   Contact Us

News Releases

St. Luke's Hospital Achieves Primary Stroke Center Certification

Joint Commission Seal

The designation recognizes centers that make exceptional efforts to improve results for stroke patients.

CHESTERFIELD, MO, July 12, 2011 - St. Luke's Hospital has earned The Joint Commission's Gold Seal of Approval™ for certification as a Primary Stroke Center. It recognizes centers that make exceptional efforts to improve results for patients with stroke.

"Providing quality healthcare is at the heart of St. Luke's mission to improve the quality of life for patients and the community, and we are honored to be nationally-recognized for delivering excellent care for patients with stroke," said Jan Hess, St. Luke's Hospital vice president. "Our team of healthcare professionals is committed to providing prompt diagnosis and treatment, which is especially important in stroke care."

To achieve certification as a Primary Stroke Center, St. Luke's Hospital successfully completed an on-site evaluation and demonstrated compliance with nationally-developed standards for stroke care.

About St. Luke's Hospital:
St. Luke's Hospital, located in Chesterfield, Mo., is a regional healthcare provider committed to improving the quality of life for patients and the community. The 493-bed, not-for-profit hospital offers more than 60 specialty areas including cardiovascular care and surgery, cancer care, neurosurgery and neurology, orthopedics, maternity and other women's health, general medicine, outpatient services, pediatrics and comprehensive surgical services.

St. Luke's is the only Missouri hospital recognized as one of America's 50 Best Hospitals TM by HealthGrades® (2007-2011), ranking among the top one percent in the nation based on superior clinical quality.

St. Luke's Hospital is also part of the Spirit of Women Hospital Network, a coalition of hospitals and healthcare providers across the United States that ascribes to the highest standards of excellence in women's health, education and community outreach. For more information about St. Luke's Hospital, please visit www.stlukes-stl.com/newsroom .

About The Joint Commission:
Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 19,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States, including more than 10,300 hospitals and home care organizations, and more than 6,500 other health care organizations that provide long term care, behavioral health care, laboratory and ambulatory care services. The Joint Commission also provides certification of more than 2,000 disease-specific care programs, primary stroke centers, and health care staffing services. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Learn more about The Joint Commission at www.jointcommission.org.

Printable Version (PDF)